samanthasound

day 39 – the beauty of failure

In thoughts on God, thoughts on me on September 30, 2011 at 4:09 pm

oh man.  failure.

especially difficult for those of us who try really hard to do things right.

and although it’s always disheartening to find myself there, the Lord allows me to see it the way He does:  a step in the right direction.

failing is the ultimate “i can’t,” – the humbling step that helps me to realize (not just know) that the more i can’t, the more He is able to do in me.

i am incapable. He desires for me to depend on Him like a little weak child.

“Have no fear, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.” – Luke 12:32

i can glory in my failures because where i am weak, He is made stronger, and He really likes giving me good things.

i sometimes picture God as an Apothecary.

(i know it’s kind of weird but i’m going to flesh the image out anyways)

He grows and cultivates me, pruning the dead parts away,

He waits until He sees I am ready

and uses me for something extraordinary and good.

maybe He uses the crushing against the stone and mortar to be able to use me better,

to trust Him more,

to help others

and to fully depend on Him.

.

Leave a Reply

