samanthasound

what are you going to do now? [the passion pit]

In thoughts on me, thoughts on things on March 13, 2010 at 7:19 am

the thing every college graduate knows they’ll hear

what are you going to do now?

(over, and over, and over.)

not sure?  then:

what do you want to do?

still not sure?  then:

what are you good at?

what do you like?

how could you make money?

how about what makes you come alive?

.

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” -Howard Thurman

.

everything creative makes me come alive.

i want my hands on it.  i’m visual kinesthetic.  in the Spirit and goodness of God, creativity gives me joy and peace.

creativity and the Lord.  this is real.  He is the most creative and it’s so beautiful.

i like

films and old things.  actual film rolls, capturing a place or person or scene.

old instruments & singing, old tales about the old moutnains, old love, old trees and old men.

stories. songs.

people lines.  how it all fits  together like a map.

he knows him and their grandmotha owned his ol’ lan n now they’re gettin ready to sell it to that guy.

places with stories with people lines.

history i can talk about and see and touch.

old fairy tales rooted in truth

a good aesthetic

design.

anthropologie.

general stores.

going back to glass bottle soda and growing your own tomatoes.

.

i want to make things and i want to grow things and i want to go places.

maybe those are my three main hats, at the pit of all my passions:

creativity & growth & travel

.

make things

(my house my bed a card a song a book a dance a dress a home)

grow things

(my family my garden my love my trust my hope my prayer my giving)

go places

(places with stories with people lines. meet people find storylines, love them, write them. history i can talk about and see and touch. old fairy tales rooted in truth.  find a good aesthetic.  go places, find people, sing songs, love them)

.

that’s what makes me come alive.

now tell me what career to have :]

  1. if you figure it out, can you let me know? 🙂 i need some help in that area, also.

Leave a Reply

